Happy Belly Happy Heart

A blog dedicated to nutrition, wellbeing and happiness. I believe the key to a good life begins with what you choose to put into your body. A happy belly = a happy mind = a happy heart.

Cleansing diet: final day

on September 2, 2013

Fruit SaladWell, here it is – day seven at last! I’m on the home straight.

And the burning questions I hear you ask are “How do you feel?”, “Do you feel detoxed?” and “Have you lost any weight?”

Well, I forgot to weigh myself at the beginning (d’oh!), but I reckon I’ve lost 1 or 2 pounds in a week. I definitely feel trimmer around my waist and haven’t had any kind of bloating or digestive problems whatsoever.

I wouldn’t say I feel particularly energised or refreshed, but I know the diet was good for me and I was amazed at the energy I found during my daily yoga practice. I generally have a pretty healthy diet anyway, but I’m sure cutting out the dairy, the wheat, and especially the sugar, for a week has been beneficial for my body and given some of my organs a bit of a rest.

tomato-and-beetroot soupWhat I ate on day seven:

  • Breakfast: fruit salad (banana, peach, strawberries and blueberries) with chopped almonds.
  • Snack: apple.
  • Lunch: tomato, beetroot and ginger soup (using tinned tomatoes).
  • Snack: carrot sticks; grapes.
  • Dinner: falafel, houmous, coleslaw, cucumber raita, salad, skinny fries & garlic mayo – at GBK!

Yes, I decided to forego the final dinner and indulge in a meal out with a friend after the cinema. I made the decision a couple of days ago and have been looking forward to it ever since!

Eating falafel & chipsMy cravings seem to have subsided a bit, but that might be because I haven’t been around other people eating today, plus I knew I was going to be eating chips before the day was out!

If you’re going to try this yourself, choose a week when you haven’t got much going on and make sure you don’t follow the diet for any longer than 10 days. Be prepared for some detoxing effects in the first few days and if you’re a bit of a caffeine fan, watch out for those headaches! I only had them mildly on the first day, but then I only usually drink one cup of caffeinated tea a day. A friend, who was also following the diet this week, normally drinks 3 or 4 cups of tea a day and had pretty bad headaches plus toothache on one day. So you can never quite tell how those toxins are going to come out.

Good luck and happy cleansing!

Leave a Reply

Sweet Exploration of Life Fulfilment

An exploration of the SELF - developing self-awareness, self-compassion and self-love

IRISH ASHTANGI

~ a classical journey through eight limbs

C'est la vie de Suzy

La vie en rose

Activated For Life

On this page, clean, healthy and sustainable eating is the norm... not junk

Cook Up a Story

Super Foods for Growing Families

The Health Care Spectator

Your Ultimate Resource for Healthy Empowerment

Yoga & Joyful Living

{ tools to inspire and empower you to live, not just exist }

The Happsters

Spread Positive Vibes. Give Love. Be Happy.

