Happy Belly Happy Heart

A blog dedicated to nutrition, wellbeing and happiness. I believe the key to a good life begins with what you choose to put into your body. A happy belly = a happy mind = a happy heart.

Cleansing diet: day six

on September 1, 2013

Spaghetti Squash DelightNearly there!

I definitely have less energy and less brain power than normal, so I have to remind myself to not overdo it, be kind to myself and take it easy. Hence why I’ve just been pottering about at home and going to the cinema a lot!

My two half hour walks were fine today, so maybe the wind had something to do with my exhaustion yesterday. Or maybe it was just the thought of getting to the cinema that kept me going!

My food diary for day six:

  • Fruit & Veg Snack PotsBreakfast: fruit salad (banana, peach, strawberries and blueberries) with chopped almonds.
  • Snack: apple.
  • Lunch: spaghetti squash with griddled courgettes, steamed leaks, steamed spinach and avocado (one of my stranger concoctions!)
  • Snack: carrot sticks; grapes; strawberries & blueberries (taken to cinema).
  • Dinner: baked sweet potato with leftover stuffed pepper mixture and steamed broccoli (same as day five).

Only 1 day to go and I think I might just do it!

5 responses to “Cleansing diet: day six

  1. Vinny Grette says:

    Avocado should be good for the brain! Good thing onlyone more day to go – I assume you’ll be adding back some protein!

    • Hi Vinny Grette (love the name!), yes I’ll definitely be adding back protein and good carbs, but it’ll be interesting to see if any of my eating habits have changed. I love your blog, but am intrigued by the cover photo – what is it?!

  2. Vinny Grette says:

    I followed the 17 day diet for a month and learned to love veggies at everymeal and for snack, too. the result was 33 pounds gone aver a year and holding steady. So yes, carryover is a strong possibility!
    You’re the first person to ask about the masthead. That’s Wanna, the hero of the first story in my book for kids on healthy eating. She’s looking at some of her ice crispy cakes that she takes along with her on her snowy adventure. The idea is that kids can cook up the things they read about in the stories. Ingredients in the recipes are all healthy ones and there is also basic nutrition info for kids and families, presented in what I intended to be a fun way.

    • Hi Vinny, that sounds great, what fantastic results! What is the 17-day diet? The ice crispy cakes look yummy and I love the sound of your book, what a brilliant idea! Keep up the good work x

  3. Vinny Grette says:

    You can read about my adventures with the 17-day diet here: http://cookupastory.wordpress.com/2013/01/29/the-17-day-diet-starring-dr-mike-morano/
    Throughout the post and at the bottom, there are links to the book I used, the grocery list, and recipes I tried as I went along 🙂

Leave a Reply

Sweet Exploration of Life Fulfilment

An exploration of the SELF - developing self-awareness, self-compassion and self-love

IRISH ASHTANGI

~ a classical journey through eight limbs

C'est la vie de Suzy

La vie en rose

Activated For Life

On this page, clean, healthy and sustainable eating is the norm... not junk

Cook Up a Story

Super Foods for Growing Families

The Health Care Spectator

Your Ultimate Resource for Healthy Empowerment

Yoga & Joyful Living

{ tools to inspire and empower you to live, not just exist }

The Happsters

Spread Positive Vibes. Give Love. Be Happy.

