Happy Belly Happy Heart

A blog dedicated to nutrition, wellbeing and happiness. I believe the key to a good life begins with what you choose to put into your body. A happy belly = a happy mind = a happy heart.

Cleansing diet: day four

on August 30, 2013

tomato-avocado-saladFour days in and I think I’m starting to get used to this. I even woke up 5 minutes before my alarm, at 3.55am this morning!

I felt like I had even less energy for yoga this morning and felt even hungrier, but you can never really tell until you get on the mat. As it turns out I was fine, had a good strong practice and barely snoozed in the car on the way there or back.

My food diary for day four:

  • Breakfast: banana, strawberry & peach smoothie; raspberries, blueberries & mango with chopped almonds; peppermint tea.
  • Snack: apple; grapes.
  • Lunch: leftover stuffed peppers (see day three).
  • Snack: chopped tomato, avocado & basil (not as well presented as in this picture though!)
  • Dinner: butternut squash, carrot & garlic soup; rice salad (see day one).

It’s amazing noticing the effects different foods have on the body. I’m used to eating oats in the morning, in the form of homemade toasted muesli which is a lot like granola, and they really keep me going for hours. But when I’m only eating fruit and 20 almonds for breakfast I find I need to eat again after only an hour or so.

I’ve never eaten so much fruit in my life! I do wonder whether it’s good to eat so much. Although fructose is a natural sugar, it’s still sugar so it can’t be good to eat it in excess. Although I do feel I need the energy. And it’s far more tasty than bland vegetables…

butternut-squash-soupI finally felt full today – for at least 2 hours! I ate over half a litre of butternut squash, carrot & garlic soup and it actually felt pretty satisfying – result!

4 responses to “Cleansing diet: day four

  1. Rosie says:

    Your doing so well :). I don’t think i could manage! Keep up the good work!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

Sweet Exploration of Life Fulfilment

An exploration of the SELF - developing self-awareness, self-compassion and self-love

IRISH ASHTANGI

~ a classical journey through eight limbs

C'est la vie de Suzy

La vie en rose

Activated For Life

On this page, clean, healthy and sustainable eating is the norm... not junk

Cook Up a Story

Super Foods for Growing Families

The Health Care Spectator

Your Ultimate Resource for Healthy Empowerment

Yoga & Joyful Living

{ tools to inspire and empower you to live, not just exist }

The Happsters

Spread Positive Vibes. Give Love. Be Happy.

