Happy Belly Happy Heart

A blog dedicated to nutrition, wellbeing and happiness. I believe the key to a good life begins with what you choose to put into your body. A happy belly = a happy mind = a happy heart.

Cleansing diet: day three

on August 29, 2013

cleanse-diet-4So I’m 3 days in and this is definitely harder than I thought it would be. I mean, for a vegetarian who mostly lives on fruit & veg, you wouldn’t think it would be that hard, right? Wrong!

I think the hardest thing is this permanent feeling of hunger. It might be a low level hunger but it’s there constantly and never seems to go away, no matter how much I eat! Luckily I don’t seem to have been hit too bad by the hungry grumps, though, so at least I can still be around other people without biting their heads off!

I definitely had slightly less energy during my yoga practice this morning, but I still managed to get through it and even discovered a bit more energy halfway through, which helped me sustain the more challenging postures for longer. And I didn’t need an afternoon nap today so maybe my body’s getting a bit more used to this new routine.

On day three I ate:

  • Breakfast: banana; grapes; raspberries & blueberries with chopped almonds; peppermint tea.
  • Snack: apple.
  • Lunch: rice salad (see day one).
  • Snack: mini corn on the cob.
  • Dinner: stuffed peppers (leftover tomato mix from day one plus brown rice, griddled courgettes, boiled carrots, steamed mushrooms and steamed leeks in a tomato and garlic sauce).

The lack of oil and butter is certainly opening me up to new culinary techniques – I never knew you could steam mushrooms or leeks and I don’t think I’ve ever griddled courgettes before!

stuffed peppersgriddled courgettes

4 responses to “Cleansing diet: day three

  1. Jemima says:

    Well done you – epic strength you are displaying. And nearly half way … only 4 days to go. xxx

    • Thanks Jemima, it’s certainly been an interesting week! But I’m so looking forward to eating normally again and fantasising about what I’m going to eat when it’s all over! xx

  2. […] baked sweet potato with leftover stuffed pepper mixture (see day three) and steamed […]

Leave a Reply

Sweet Exploration of Life Fulfilment

An exploration of the SELF - developing self-awareness, self-compassion and self-love

IRISH ASHTANGI

~ a classical journey through eight limbs

C'est la vie de Suzy

La vie en rose

Activated For Life

On this page, clean, healthy and sustainable eating is the norm... not junk

Cook Up a Story

Super Foods for Growing Families

The Health Care Spectator

Your Ultimate Resource for Healthy Empowerment

Yoga & Joyful Living

{ tools to inspire and empower you to live, not just exist }

The Happsters

Spread Positive Vibes. Give Love. Be Happy.

