Happy Belly Happy Heart

A blog dedicated to nutrition, wellbeing and happiness. I believe the key to a good life begins with what you choose to put into your body. A happy belly = a happy mind = a happy heart.

Cleansing diet: day two

on August 28, 2013

veg-basketI’m still alive!

Ok so I survived the first day and still managed to have a strong yoga practice in the morning too. I wonder if any of the pizza I ate on Sunday was still in my system…

I was less tired than day one and didn’t need an afternoon nap, although I have been snoozing in the car to and from London! I’m still pretty hungry most of the time, but surprised at how much energy I have considering I’m barely eating any carbs or protein.

So this was my food diary for day two:

  • Breakfast: fruit salad (bananas, strawberries, peach and nectarine in lemon juice) with chopped almonds; peppermint tea.
  • Snack: apple.
  • Lunch: rice salad (see day one).
  • Snack: chopped tomato, avocado and basil.
  • Dinner: steamed veg in tomato sauce with rice (see day one).

And these are some of my initial observations:

  • It’s amazing how much fruit & veg you get through when it’s all you’re eating! I’m having to stock up every few days.
  • I need to eat much more frequently: scrap ‘little and often’; it’s more like ‘all day, every day’!
  • I’m developing an obsession with food, constantly thinking about what I’m going to eat next and planning my next meal.
  • But I’m also developing a deeper appreciation for food and even the simplest things seem like complete luxury. Oh to be able to eat an oat cake with peanut butter or a corn thin with Marmite! Or even a morsel of cheese. Or a bowl of cheesy chips with salt, pepper and mayonnaise (ok, now I’m drooling…)
  • I also seem to be craving comfort and I realise I usually get a lot of comfort from food, even when it’s healthy.

I’ll let you know tomorrow if I made it all the way to day three…

Leave a Reply

Sweet Exploration of Life Fulfilment

An exploration of the SELF - developing self-awareness, self-compassion and self-love

IRISH ASHTANGI

~ a classical journey through eight limbs

C'est la vie de Suzy

La vie en rose

Activated For Life

On this page, clean, healthy and sustainable eating is the norm... not junk

Cook Up a Story

Super Foods for Growing Families

The Health Care Spectator

Your Ultimate Resource for Healthy Empowerment

Yoga & Joyful Living

{ tools to inspire and empower you to live, not just exist }

The Happsters

Spread Positive Vibes. Give Love. Be Happy.

