Happy Belly Happy Heart

A blog dedicated to nutrition, wellbeing and happiness. I believe the key to a good life begins with what you choose to put into your body. A happy belly = a happy mind = a happy heart.

Cleansing diet: day one

on August 27, 2013

Fruits & VeggiesSo I finally got around to trying the cleansing diet I’ve been reading about in my nutrition course.

It’s a very simple alkalising diet, consisting of only fruits and vegetables (raw, cooked or juiced), filtered water and herbal teas, but you can also include the following:

  • Up to 1 cooked cup of brown rice per day
  • 1/2 a small avocado per day
  • Up to 20 almonds per day

As it’s designed to cleanse and detoxify your system, you should avoid all meat, dairy, gluten, carbs (apart from the rice), protein (apart from the almonds), oils, spices, salt, sugar and alcohol.

I decided to follow the diet for 7 days, as 10 days is the recommended maximum, and yesterday was day one. It’s certainly harder than I thought it would be and I have the added challenge of keeping up my daily Ashtanga yoga practice. However, this isn’t just a normal practice week for me. Sharath, the grandson of my guru Sri K Pattabhi Jois, is teaching in London as part of his World Tour. But I live in Brighton! So I’m going to bed at 8pm and getting up at 4am to get a lift up to London (almost 2 hours each way), practising led primary in a huge room of about 150 people (which is pretty intense in itself), then getting a lift home again to collapse. Phew!

On top of all that I’m having to put a lot of thought and energy into planning my meals and have already become a bit obsessed with food – thinking about it when I’m on the mat and even dreaming about it some nights!

It may sound a little mad to be following a cleansing diet in the same week as attending Sharath’s classes, but as I have the week off work, I figured it would be easier this way than trying to plan food to take to work, and more significantly, trying to concentrate at work. And I think I was right – yesterday I could barely think straight! When I got home I felt very tired, very hungry and quite wobbly. I slept for an hour and a half in the afternoon and felt quite headachey when I got up. But this is to be expected: apparently it’s a sign of the toxins being released and your body adjusting to the new regime.

apple_banana_almonds

So this is what I ate on day one:

  • Breakfast: banana, apple, 20 almonds (which isn’t as many as you might think).
  • Lunch: rice salad with salad leaves, basil, avocado, tomatoes, cucumber, mushrooms, beetroot, carrot, and pure lemon juice as a dressing.
  • Snack: mini corn on the cob.
  • Dinner: steamed squash, carrot and aubergine in a tomato and garlic sauce (no oil) on a bed of rice.

I was feeling pretty hungry for most of the day and nothing could quite satisfy me, so I was a bit worried about not having enough energy to practice the next morning. As it turns out I was fine, but the worst bit of all is going for breakfast after practice and watching others tuck into coffees, croissants and muffins while I try to feel content with my fruit, almonds and peppermint tea!

I’ll update you as the week progresses and let you know how I’m getting on – if I have the brainpower that is!

4 responses to “Cleansing diet: day one

  1. […] Dinner: butternut squash, carrot & garlic soup; rice salad (see day one). […]

  2. […] Cleansing diet: day one Cleansing diet: day three » Aug […]

  3. […] Dinner: leftover butternut soup (see day four); leftover stuffed peppers (see day three); leftover rice salad (see day one). […]

Leave a Reply

Sweet Exploration of Life Fulfilment

An exploration of the SELF - developing self-awareness, self-compassion and self-love

IRISH ASHTANGI

~ a classical journey through eight limbs

C'est la vie de Suzy

La vie en rose

Activated For Life

On this page, clean, healthy and sustainable eating is the norm... not junk

Cook Up a Story

Super Foods for Growing Families

The Health Care Spectator

Your Ultimate Resource for Healthy Empowerment

Yoga & Joyful Living

{ tools to inspire and empower you to live, not just exist }

The Happsters

Spread Positive Vibes. Give Love. Be Happy.

